Saturday, March 27, 2010
Speaking of running
I registered for Pat's Run...a 4.2 mile run to raise money for the Pat Tillman Foundation. If you don't know who Pat Tillman is 1) shame on you and 2) look him up. And then we can talk, LOL. I'm not quite sure I'll be in full running readiness for this but its a good cause. That and it'll keep me motivated to actually keep running instead of complaining about it like I always do. I mean I still do it. I just b*tch a lot. Still no word on the job, although some promising part time leads have come up. We will see how amped people are when I tell them I can only take the job for a set amount of time. If only I knew how long that time frame was...that would make life soooooo much easier.
Thursday, March 4, 2010
The key word in healthcare....
Here's a question. Why are people who dedicate their time and efforts into helping others with their health so bad at taking care of themselves? Its like respiratory therapists who smoke. Umm....riiiiight. And no offense if you are a respiratory therapist who smokes...I guess you are making an informed decision and I totally respect that. I have been noticing this more and more as I explore my ideas of health and how to maintain a "healthy" way of life. For example...working out. How many of us bitch at the idea of going to the gym. All of a sudden, the idea of getting up from what we are doing...inevitably nothing...and getting dressed, picking up our keys, and driving (yes I said driving) to the gym seems like the one thing we DO NOT want to do. I HAVE BEEN THERE. I speak from experience. I'm tired. I have other way more important things to do...like maybe sleep a little later. Etc, etc, etc. A friend of mine explained this in a way that I can only describe as enlightening. She says to me, "Of course we don't want to...because we're naturally lazy...only crazy people like you combat the laziness and actually get up to go for a run. There's something wrong with you". I don't know how I feel about that part of the statement although I do agree that getting up at around 5 am at least 3 days a week for 3 years to do PT in the morning is something that made my sanity a bit questionable.
I'm realizing that now that I'm not in school anymore in theory I have more time to work out. Then I'm realizing I have more time to do all the other crap I haven't done in months. See my dilemma? That and the fact that I have to kind of keep up with my working out for my job just makes life difficult. So I decided to go to a bootcamp this entire week...Saturday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. Thanks to my friends at Profitness in Phoenix, I have never been more sore in my life. Day 1 was okay...day 2...I thought I was going to die. My calves hurt, my hips hurt, my abs hurt....my soul hurt. Which made me think 1 of 2 things....1) THIS SUCKS HARD...why am I putting myself through this...and then 2) If I had kept up working out, this wouldn't be kicking my tail so hard (which made me mad at myself). It is now Thursday (day 5) and I'm finally starting to feel normal again. At least walking normal which is a relief because my daily dog walks were really killing me in this condition. I felt good after this crazy week. I finally felt like I was getting back on track. I was accountable to the trainers there and it made me get off my behind. And when I was done, I felt great. So the score is...working out-1, laziness-0.5. I'm not saying that I wouldn't prefer to be lazy, but I think if it means I have to go through being this sore again...I'd rather keep up with it.
I'm realizing that now that I'm not in school anymore in theory I have more time to work out. Then I'm realizing I have more time to do all the other crap I haven't done in months. See my dilemma? That and the fact that I have to kind of keep up with my working out for my job just makes life difficult. So I decided to go to a bootcamp this entire week...Saturday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. Thanks to my friends at Profitness in Phoenix, I have never been more sore in my life. Day 1 was okay...day 2...I thought I was going to die. My calves hurt, my hips hurt, my abs hurt....my soul hurt. Which made me think 1 of 2 things....1) THIS SUCKS HARD...why am I putting myself through this...and then 2) If I had kept up working out, this wouldn't be kicking my tail so hard (which made me mad at myself). It is now Thursday (day 5) and I'm finally starting to feel normal again. At least walking normal which is a relief because my daily dog walks were really killing me in this condition. I felt good after this crazy week. I finally felt like I was getting back on track. I was accountable to the trainers there and it made me get off my behind. And when I was done, I felt great. So the score is...working out-1, laziness-0.5. I'm not saying that I wouldn't prefer to be lazy, but I think if it means I have to go through being this sore again...I'd rather keep up with it.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)