Saturday, July 7, 2012

Physical therapy week 1



Well the first week of physical therapy is done. This is what I've learned so far.

1.  No one goes to physical therapy on Fridays.  Hence why the "gym" (above) is empty.

2.  Crutches are a bitch. Everywhere I go is far away and if I don't have tris you can cut glass with by the end of this I give up.

3.  A great time to catch up on all the sleep I'm not getting is while getting estem and ice.

4.  Work + pt + work = no bueno. Every day that's happened I've come home and literally gone straight to bed.

 

Oh and this is what this estem mess looks like.  Check out those muscle contractions.  Actually you may have to enlarge the video to actually see it (hard to get the iphone to really capture the essence of what this FEELS like).  Oh and there's some douchebag talking about cars in the background.  Disregard.  :p

Monday, July 2, 2012

Physical therapy...or actual therapy?

Today was day 1 of physical therapy.  I was actually really looking forward to it.  Until my therapist decided to tell me all about her nightmare weekend.  Don't get me wrong.  I'm obviously in a profession that requires you listen to problems.  But lately (it may be due to the fact that I have my own issues that I find are more important these days) I have no patience.  So I spent an hour and forty five minutes at therapy today.  Standard exercises for about an hr and then electrical stim for 20 min to round it out with about 15 min of ice.  Woot....three days a week for 2 weeks of these shenanigans. 

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

POP

Its been a while since I've written here, mainly because I just don't want to put too much out there that I'd have to defend later.  Yeah I know, not the best way to start out a blog but those who know me know why.  Anyways, I am going to share the latest events of my life because I figure I may as well start documenting for posterity's sake.  So here we go.

It all starts a few weeks ago.  Got told that I had the lovely privilege of deploying to a nice sandy place most of you who watch the news are familiar with.  That part didn't bother me.  It was the 2 weeks notice that was a little hard to take.  So I rushed around and got stuff done all to end up doing this to myself

 
Now this may not look like much.  But considering this was twice the size of my right knee.  Yeah.  All I can tell you is that I was doing something I was supposed to be doing, not something stupid which was my usual reason for hurting myself.  I heard a pop, felt like someone kicked me in the back of the knee and immediately this sucker swelled.  Yay.  So since then went to the ER where they put in for an ortho consult.  Which resulted in nothing.  Had to go to my doctor to get another consult for ortho with resulted in....nothing.  Luckily I have an MRI scheduled for this Saturday and physical therapy now gets to take care of me yet again.  I can barely walk...lucky for me I get these guys to help me out.



Bane of my existence these things.  But they help.  That along with the huge knee immobilizer and the handicap placard I got (yes, you read correctly...I got the golden ticket) I'm "mobile" but not really.  So far dad has been my poor chauffeur and the pain meds have been my buddies since last week.  I was lucky the parents were heading into town to pic up the Roxanator pre-deployment so when we had a "mission change", they were right on board.  

Here's hoping that I have a more definitive diagnosis sometime this next week.  I'll keep ya'll posted :)

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

I'm baaaaacccckkkkk

After a huge break I've decided that I need to start blogging again. No lie its been a tough year but I made it. Had a real big eye opener today and I'm realizing that I need to make some major changes in my life so that good things can come my way. That's it for now nut more soon! :)